Postgraduate (Research)

Postgraduate (Research)

Scholarships & Grants » Mark Rowe Prize for Neurophysiology

The Mark Rowe Prize for Neurophysiology: M0816A

Award Details:  For outstanding Doctoral (or Masters) thesis in neurophysiology, with a preference for a thesis in the area of sensation or movement. Eligibility is not restricted to a particular Faculty.

Application and selection process:

  1. The Selection Panel will broadly advertise the nomination period (July) in the Faculties of Science, Medicine and Engineering. 

  2. Supervisors from the various Schools, and the awards committee,
     will identify potential candidates and act as nominator for one or more individuals.  
    The closing date for applications is July 31st.
  3. The nomination will be accompanied by a PDF of the thesis, the Examiners' reports, the nominee's CV,
     and a statement that the nominee supports the provision of this information to the Mark Rowe Prize selection panel. 
  4. The Selection panel will make a determination based on this submitted applications, with a decision no later than  October 31st.

Factors that will affect the final decision include:

  • total duration of candidature 
  • impact of publications arising from the thesis
  • quality of the thesis
  • the Examiners' reports
  • a preference for theses in the area of sensation or movement
  • the applicant's CV with special reference to community outreach and conference presentations.

The award may not be conferred in any particular year if the selection committee deems it unwarranted.

Contact Details for nominations

SoMS administration



2012 Mark Rowe Award Recipient: Anna Louise Hudson  PhD 
Thesis Title: Strategies of motor unit recruitment in human inspiratory muscles
NeuRA formally Prince of Wales Medical Research Institute

2013 Mark Rowe Award Recipient: Jocelyn Louise Bowden  PhD
Thesis Title: Sensorimotor changes with age and stroke
Neuroscience Research Australia

2014 Mark Rowe Award Recipient: Ria Arnold PhD
Thesis Title: Mechanisms of axonal dysfunction in chronic kidney disease
School of Medical Sciences

2015 Mark Rowe Award Recipient: Johanna Bergmann PhD
Thesis Title: When size matters: how the layout of primary visual cortex (V1) shapes higher cognitive functioning.
School of Psychology

2016 Mark Rowe Award Recipient: Christine Shiner PhD
Thesis Title: Characterising post-stroke heterogeneity from brain to muscle: implicatins for clinical assessment and motor rehabilitation
School of Medical Sciences and Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA)


Background: Mark Joseph Rowe (1943-2011)

image - Mark Rowe Prize for NeurophysiologyThe award is a tribute and memorial to Professor Mark Joseph Rowe, Scientia Professor of Physiology, in recognition of his contributions to neuroscience. Mark Rowe was an internationally renowned neurophysiologist who contributed substantially to the field of somatosensory physiology and motor control. Mark had a long association with UNSW, beginning with his Ph.D. and culminating with a Personal Chair and award of a DSc (1988), and then the recognition of  his broad accomplishments through the title of Scientia Professor (2001). He “retired” in 2003 and continued his active research as Emeritus Professor of Physiology until his tragic loss in 2011. Throughout his career, Mark Rowe was highly regarded as a teacher and mentor who demonstrated the best of academia.