Health & Safety » Health & Safety Consultation

SoMS has an active H&S committee which meets four times a year. Committee members are listed below and minutes are available in the Related Documents section on the right.

Committee members represent their workgroup in health and safety matters. Committee members carry out annual workplace inspections. For full terms and conditions refer to the committee constitution in Related Documents.

There are three levels of H&S committees. Consultation may start at the Level 3 SoMS H&S committee then on to the Medicine Faculty Executive Meeting (including Level 2 Health and Safety meeting) which may in turn report to the University Level 1 H&S committee. Equally, matters discussed at the University Level 1 H&S Committee are cascaded to the Faculty Level 2 and School/Unit committees Level 3.

2022 meeting dates and minutes:

Tuesady 14 June 2022 (1pm)  
Thursday 1 September 2022 (1pm)  
Thursday 1 December 2022 (1pm)  


2021 meeting dates and minutes: 

Tuesday 16 March 2021 (11am - 12pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 1 - 160321
Tuesday 29 June 2021 (2pm - 3pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 2 - 290621
Tuesday 24 August 2021 (2pm - 3pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 3 - 240821


2020 meeting dates and minutes:   

Tuesday 3rd March 2020 (2pm - 3pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 1 - 030320
Tuesday 16th June 2020 (3pm - 4pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 2 - 160620
Tuesday 1st September 2020 (2pm - 3pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 3 - 010920
Tuesday 24 November 2020 (2pm - 3pm)  Minutes - SoMS L3 H&S Meeting 4 - 241120


2019 meeting dates and minutes:

Tuesday 12th February (12-1pm)  Minutes - SoMS L3 WHS - 120219
Tuesday 14th May (12-1pm)  Minutes - SoMS L3 WHS - 140519
Tuesday 20th August (12-1pm) Minutes - SoMS L3 WHS - 200819
Tuesday 29th October (12-1pm)  Minutes - SoMS L3 WHS - 291019

Location: Lowy meeting room 405


2018 meeting dates and minutes:

Tuesday 27th February                        Minutes L3 HS Committee 2018-02-27
Tuesday 15th May  Minutes L3 HS Committee 2018-05-15
Tuesday 21st August  Minutes L3 HS Committee 2018-08-21
Tuesday 20th Novembe Minutes L3 HS Committee 2018-11-20


How to resolve H&S issues

Step 1: Talk to your supervisor or manager.

Step 2: If not resolved, report the problem to an H&S Representative or H&S Officer who will have discussions with the relevant supervisor/manager or raise the issue at the H&S Committee.

Step 3: If not resolved, the Chairperson of the Level 3 H&S Committee can refer the issue to either the Medicine Level 2 H&S Committee or to the Level 1 H&S Committee if the issue has university–wide impact.

Step 4: If not resolved, the H&S Representative or Chairperson of the Level 3 H&S Committee can invite a SafeWork NSW inspector to attend the workplace to assist in the resolution of the issue.

Advice on H&S problem resolution should be sought from the Medicine & Health Faculty H&S Coordinator. Managers and employees must work cooperatively to resolve H&S problems, and should notify the Medicine & Health Faculty H&S Coordinator Dr Giulia Oss prior to requesting assistance from SafeWork NSW.





Cristan Herbert (Chair)

L4, WW


Rowena Bull (Deputy Chair)

L5, WW 

Kirby Institute

Prof. Jake Baum

L4, LCRC Head, School of Medical Sciences



School of Health Sciences, Exercise Physiology

Jeff Hook



Kristie Leavai

L2W, WW School Manager, SoMS

Goran Strkalj

L2NW, WW Anatomy


L3E, WW Pharmacology

Tim Murphy

L3W, WW Physiology

Leanne Stephenson

L4W, WW BMSF (acting)

Shelley Lien

L4SW, WW  School of W&CH

Belinda Parmenter

L2W, WW  Head, School of Health Sciences

Lawrence Lee


Sonia Isaacs

PoWH  Virology

Cameron Reeley

BRC Animal Services

Michael Leong

  Post-graduate student Rep.




Dixie Papast

L4E and L4SW, WW

Lab Manager
Shudi Tang


Lab Manager

Francesca Charlton

L3E, WW Lab Manager

Tom Sobey

L3, LCRC Lab Manager

Nancy Martin La Rotta


Lab Manager

Nikol Herrera Vranova

L1, D26 Team Leader Lab Ops, Anatomy

Irma Villaflor

L1, Ex. Physiology Lab Manager

Committee Support


Brooke Thornberry