UNSW Pharmaceutical Medicine 20th Anniversary Symposium

When: Saturday 26th November 2016, 9am to 5pm

Where: Level 6, Seminar Room, Wallace Wurth Building UNSW Australia Sydney NSW 2052

Cost: Free

This event will provide opportunities for those involved with the Pharmaceutical Medicine program (including current students, alumni and key industry figures from the Australasia region) to celebrate 20 successful years of the program at UNSW. Presentations and panel discussion from experts in the pharmaceutical industry will provide insight to the current and future state of the industry.







Professor Ian Jacobs

Vice-Chancellor and President, UNSW Australia



Professor Ric Day

Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, St Vincent's Hospital Clinical School and Pharmacology, School of Medical Sciences, UNSW Medicine

Introduction and a look back at the program


Dr David Grolman

Medical Director, Pfizer Australia and President, Australian Pharmaceutical Physicians Association (APPA)

The state of pharmaceutical medicine in Australia


Dr Victoria Elegant

Vice President and Region Head JAPAC Medical, Amgen

The future of pharmaceutical medical affairs in Asia


Morning tea


Mr David Grainger

Global Public Policy Director, Eli Lilly and Company

Patient involvement in health technology assessment


Panel (confirmed to date):

- Chair – Professor Peter Gunning

Head of School and Head of Oncology Research Unit, School of Medical Sciences, UNSW Medicine

- Dr Alfredo Martinez-Coll

General Manager, Stakeholder Engagement, MTPConnect (MedTech and Pharma Growth Centre -MTP-IIGC Ltd)

- Dr Michelle Miller

Managing Director, Biotron Limited

- Dr Geoff Symonds

Director, Calimmune Australia Pty Ltd and Conjoint Professor, UNSW Medicine

- Dr David Brown

Chief Scientific Officer, Novogen

Early stage development - strategies, enablers and barriers in Australia




Dr Charlotte Lemech

Medical Director, Scientia Clinical Research

Patient centricity in clinical development


Adj Prof John Skerritt

Deputy Secretary for Health Products Regulation, Department of Health and Adjunct Professor, Universities of Queensland and Canberra

Global regulatory harmonisation


Professor Merlin Crossley

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) and Professor of Molecular Biology, UNSW Australia

The future of higher education


Afternoon tea


Panel (confirmed to date):

- Chair – Professor Margaret Morris

Professor, Head of Pharmacology, School of Medical Sciences, UNSW Medicine

- Kirsten O’Doherty

General Manager ANZ, AbbVie

- Dr Shanny Dyer

Chief Executive Officer, ARCS Australia Ltd

The pharmaceutical industry in Australia - future opportunities and challenges


Dr Orin Chisholm

Program Authority and Senior Lecturer, School of Medical Sciences, UNSW Medicine

Closing statements

Click here to view the program for the symposium as a PDF.


Orin Chisholm (Program Authority);   Nancy Tran (Program Administrator)

UNSW Events